3 Ways to Support Latina Women on #LatinaEqualPay Day

October 28. 2020


Thursday October 29 is Latina Equal Pay Day, the approximate day in 2020 when the average Latinx woman finally catches up to what the average white, non-Hispanic man earned in 2019 alone.

In other words, Latinx women must work a total of 22 months to earn what white men earn in just 12. This is because Latinas are paid only 55 cents on average for every dollar paid to white non-Hispanic men. Over a 40-year career, this amounts to over one million dollars of lost income.

Raise awareness about #LatinaEqualPay with us in several ways on Latina Equal Pay Day, Oct. 29:

1. Join the Twitterstorm: 11 a.m. – 12 p.m. PT (2 – 3 p.m. ET )

Help us raise awareness about the wage gap and its impact on Latinx women and their families. Use this social media toolkit to engage in a robust online dialogue with advocates and community members across the country. If you can’t participate during the designated time, we’ll be raising awareness all day. Use hashtag #LatinaEqualPay to join the conversation.

2. Donate to support #LatinaEqualPay

Support Equal Rights Advocates’ national coalition project Equal Pay Today in our fight to close gender and racial wage gaps. Every gift helps make a difference! Donate here.

3. Attend a digital event

  • Before the Twitterstorm, our partners at The Labor Council for Latin American Advancement (LCLAA) will host an event via Zoom at 9 – 10:30 a.m. PT (12 – 1:30 p.m. ET), entitled The Devastating Effects of Income Inequality on Latina Workers.” Speakers will discuss what is needed to ensure an inclusive recovery from the pandemic that can also guarantee the advancement of Latinx and immigrant families across the country. Register and tune in for free.

  • Immediately following the Twitterstorm, Justice for Migrant Women and Equal Pay Today (a project of Equal Rights Advocates) will present a national charla, Let’s Make Change: “Pay Us the Full Dollar, a virtual event with a mix of short fireside chats, flashtalks, and entertainment that will stream from 12 – 1:30 p.m. PT (3 -4:30 p.m. ET). Speakers will discuss how the pay gap impacts Latinx women and their families, honor Latina essential workers, present what policymakers and businesses must do to close the #paygap, and build both skills and power to help us #DemandMore. Plus, hear from some of our partners about why it’s important to uplift and amplify the message around Latina Equal Pay Day, and enjoy some amazing entertainment by Las Cafeteras, Shelly Lares, and Mariachi Divas. Register and attend for free.

  • Following the national charla, there will also be a coordinated Twitter Town Hall from 1:30 – 2 p.m. PT (4:30 – 5 p.m. ET), planned by SUMA Wealth Management, Justice for Migrant Women, and She Se Puede, where Latina “Money Mentors” will share advice on pay equity and financial success for Latinas. Money Mentors will post questions (in graphic form), with their own response and will invite others to comment/discuss the prompted question. Tune in live on Facebook.
  • Immediately following the Latina Money Mentors event, Women Employed and Equal Pay Day Chicago will be hosting Half-Paid Heroes: Working Women, COVID-19, and #LatinaEqualPay Day at 2 – 3 p.m. PT (4 – 5 p.m. CT / 5 – 6 p.m. ET).

Stay Connected & Take Action

Continue to EqualRights.org

Our 2020 Annual Report

Your 2020 donations fought systemic injustice & made a big difference in the lives of women, workers, students, and families.

See Annual Report

Legal Advice & Resources / Consejos y Recursos legales

Know Your Rights

Learn what your rights are so you can navigate your situation and make the best decision for you.

Your Rights at Work
Your Rights at School

Contact Us

We may be able to provide free legal help for the following issues at school: gender and LGBTQI+ discrimination, sexual harassment, sexual assault, and pregnancy or parenting discrimination.

Apply for Legal Help

Learn More

We have trained legal advocates and lawyers on staff to guide you through your legal issue.

We're helping women, families, workers & students navigate COVID-19

Conozca Sus Derechos

Aprende sus derechos para que puedas navegar su situación y tomar la mejor decisión para ti.

Sus Derechos en el Trabajo

Contáctenos

Posible que podamos proveer ayuda legal por gratis por los siguientes problemas en el trabajo o la escuela: discriminación basado en el género o por LGBTQI+, acoso sexual, asalto sexual, y discriminación basado en el embarazo o por ser padre/madre.

Contáctenos

Nuestro servicio de asesoramiento por teléfono está cerrado por ahora

En este momento, no estamos recibiendo solicitudes dejadas por un recado de teléfono. Sin embargo, usted puede someter una solicitud para una consulta por la manera de hacer clic en el links "Empleo" o "Educación."